Explore the Complete Nyingma Tradition

Home Page of The Complete Nyingma Tradition
>The Books of The Complete Nyingma Tradition
Choying Tobden Dorje and the Story Behind the Complete Nyingma Tradition

In Memorium: Alak Zenkar Rinpoche reflects on Lama Tharchin Rinpoche and the Complete Nyingma Tradition
Lama Sonam Tsering on The Complete Nyingma Tradition
Praise for The Complete Nyingma Tradition

The Books of the Complete Nyingma Tradition

Book 1: Discipleship and forsaking misleading companions
Book 2: How the sacred Buddhist doctrine is transmitted through teaching and listening, and how its foundation, faith, is developed
Book 3: The difficulty of attaining a free and fully endowed human life
Book 4: The impermanence of composite phenomena
Book 5: Ennobling and corrupting actions, karma, and consequences
Book 6: The round of rebirth’s nature as suffering
Book 7: Taking refuge; the legal code of the spiritual path of individual liberation; and the basis, path, and result of the hearers’ and solitary sages’ ways of Buddhist practice
Book 8: The middle way’s foundation—the two truths, and the initial uplifting of the mind to awakening
Book 9: The middle way’s path—the twofold cultivation of goodness and wisdom during three intervening incalculable eons
Book 10: The middle way’s result—the two wisdom bodies of final, manifest complete enlightenment

Books 11-12: Translation Forthcoming

Book 11: The array of the realms that fill the bounds of space
Book 12: The ten major and minor subjects of Buddhist culture

Complete Nyingma 13

This volume presents the philosophical systems of India and Tibet, according to the writings of Longchen Rabjam and the revelations of Orgyan Lingpa. First, it discusses the views attributed to classical Hinduism, Jainism, materialism, and nihilism. Second, it describes the standpoints of the Vaibhashika and Sautrantika exponents of the lesser vehicle, exemplified by pious attendants and hermit buddhas, and the Cittamatra (“mind only”) and Madhyamaka (“middle way”) commentators of the great vehicle, exemplified by great bodhisattva beings. Third, it analyzes the inner and outer vehicles of the Buddhist tantras, with an emphasis on the three classes of the great perfection. Fourth, it documents the lines of philosophical transmission within Tibet, including Bon, Nyingma, Kagyu, Sakya, Kadampa, and Geluk. It concludes with an extract from a well-known treatise of the Fifth Dalai Lama, applying the techniques of consequential reasoning to the first chapter of Vasubandhu’s Treasury of Phenomenology.

An Overview of Buddhist Tantra, is the fourteenth book from this collection and the first in the series to focus on tantra. Whereas previous volumes presented the general exoteric teachings of Buddhism, this work outlines the esoteric practice of tantra according to the Nyingma system. The author defines the parameters of tantra by dividing the work into outer and inner tantras, and concludes with explaining the result of the tantric path—enlightenment itself. Designed to be a companion for dedicated practitioners who receive direct instructions from a qualified teacher, this work is a comprehensive manual that provides the foundation for understanding the genuine and profound teachings of Buddhist tantra.

The Essential Tantras of Mahayoga is presented in two volumes and concerns the first of the three classes of inner tantra. It presents the entire text of the Guhyagarbha Tantra, in Tibetan and English, together with the interlinear sections of one of its most important commentaries, Dispelling the Darkness of the Ten Directions, by the outstanding fourteenth-century master Longchen Rabjam. Also included is Choying Tobden Dorje’s rewriting of Candragomin’s inspirational Extensive Commentary on the Sublime Litany of the Names of Manjushri.

This translation is comprised of two physical books for the single price.

Anuyoga: Book 18 (Title and translation Forthcoming)

In the commentary to anuyoga tantras, their foundation—empowerment; their vital force—tantric bonds; their path—view, meditation, and conduct; and their result

Atiyoga: Books 19-20 (Title and Translation Forthcoming)

Book 19:  Atiyoga, the ground of being. In the commentary to the natural great perfection tantras, their origin and an enumeration of their texts; their foundation—empowerment; and their vital force—the tantric bonds’ four principles
Book 20: The view of Atiyoga. For those of the highest degree of acumen, who can attain freedom in this lifetime—coming to conclusive certainty in the view of atiyoga

Trekchöd: Book 21 (Title and Translation Forthcoming)

This book includes commentary that focuses on trekchöd, the meditation on cutting through the solidity of dualistic experience

Thogal: Book 22 (Title and Translation Forthcoming)

This book includes commentary on thogal, meditation on the four visions within direct vision

Books 23-25 (Title and Translation Forthcoming)

Book 23: Enrichment of spiritual experience through conduct, introduction to the nature of mind, and signs indicative of degrees of success
Book 24: For those of a middle degree of acumen, instruction for liberation during the period between lifetimes; and for those of an average degree of acumen, liberation in the realms of the manifest wisdom body
Book 25: The final result—enlightenment’s five bodies and five wisdoms, and acts of spontaneous enlightened activity